GMDoom… Plus graphics and things!

I’ve continued off and on development on GMDP this past week between a couple of other projects, some of which I’ll share shortly. I’ve been learning a lot about the Doom WAD format these past couple of weeks, and have been making huge strides in GMDP. Much of what I’ve done with it is actually invisible, such as loading various information in regards to the different vertexes, linedefs, sidedefs, sectors, subsectors, nodes, glverts, glsegs, glssects and a considerable amount more. There is enough information being loaded right now to create an untextured version of any level in the game. This is a huge step.

I’ve now got all THINGS in a level loading up, including their positions, and any flags or settings that are defined for each. I’ve now got them displaying as small green dots on the map that I’ve loaded earlier.

In addition to that,Β Β I’ve finally accomplished something today that I’ve not seen done in GM before, Patch loading! The one thing that wasn’t accomplished in the project that inspired me to work on this is finally a reality. Textures, sprites, backgrounds, all of them are readable from a wad file. I’m super excited about this. It’s currently a little slower than I’d like but that’s what optimizations down the road are for.

Now for a little evidence!

Image

Yep, there’s the TITLEPIC loaded dynamically from a wad straight into GM: Studio. You can also see THINGS drawn on the map overlayed onto the background.

Progress, it’s a joyous feeling πŸ™‚

About i4000

Video game designer, video game artist, story writer, poet, and traditional artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to GMDoom… Plus graphics and things!

  1. xygthop3 says:

    Show us more of GMDoom, very exciting stuff!!

    • i4000 says:

      haha I’m currently putting together the code to build the actual mesh data for the levels out of the information that’s being loaded from the game. Unfortunately this is the longest part, but as soon as i get something working i’ll post an update. πŸ˜„

  2. xygthop3 says:

    Anything new to show off? I’m still really keen to see what you’ve come up with.

    • i4000 says:

      Hey, thanks for getting in touch. Things have been a bit slow for me lately. Ran into some financial issues and have been taking as many jobs as I could lately to try and keep myself floating. Hopefully it will pay off soon. I’ll get back to this as soon as I can though.

  3. Vynzent says:

    Hey, this is an awesome idea there. BTW, does this mean that you’d be able to make your own Doom-like games by editing WAD resources in simple ways?

    • i4000 says:

      Yes sir. I’ve been rather busy lately, but ultimately that IS the plan. πŸ™‚

      • Vynzent says:

        Awesome. Also, do you plan on making Android/iPhone versions? That is, assuming you have GM the Studio version? That would open up a great market for you.

        Lastly, I was wondering if you had any plans on releasing the “engine/source-file” at any point, free or sold. It sure would be nice to be able to make our own things with it, but of course it’d be understandable if you keep it your ‘little secret’ πŸ˜‰

      • i4000 says:

        I do have Studio and i’m only relying on gml for all of my calculations so it should work on multiple platforms. I do intend to release the source once i’ve gotten far enough along to a point where it’s actually usable. I may join up with another competent programmer to rush development if I can find one.

      • Vynzent says:

        Thanks for the replies.
        I’ll look forward to seeing how this advances. It is an outstanding thing to create a working source port using Game Maker.
        I wish you the best of luck on the project.

      • i4000 says:

        Thanks a bunch friendo!

Leave a Reply

